Q:

Is rice gluten free?

A:

Quick Answer

Rice is one of a handful of foods that is made from grains and does not contain gluten. This includes all forms of rice, including white, brown, basmati and enriched varieties. Corn flour, cornmeal, grits and soy are also gluten-free.

Continue Reading
Is rice gluten free?
Credit: AwayIGI iStock Getty Images

Full Answer

A gluten-free diet is generally recommended for people who suffer from celiac disease, an autoimmune disorder in which the person's body creates an immune response that eventually attacks the small intestine. This leads to damage to the villi, which in turn causes nutrient absorption to suffer. Many people who have not been diagnosed with celiac disease nonetheless eat a gluten-free diet for a variety of other reasons, including gluten intolerance, wheat allergies or weight management.

Learn more about Pasta & Grains

Related Questions

Explore