Q:

What is a replacement for potato starch?

A:

Quick Answer

Some replacements for potato starch are cornstarch, arrowroot and tapioca. These are all thickeners that can give the same result when substituted in a recipe that requires potato starch. Potato starch is a gluten-free thickener used in soups, stews and gravy.

Continue Reading
What is a replacement for potato starch?
Credit: Jon Pallbo Other

Full Answer

Although these different starches can be substitutes for potato starch, there are different advantages and disadvantages with each of these substitutes. For example, if one is substituting potato starch in a dish that is acidic, then one could choose arrowroot instead of cornstarch. The reason for this is that cornstarch loses some its effectiveness with the addition of an acid.

Similarly, a substitute for gravy that has milk as an ingredient can be cornstarch instead of arrowroot. It can be a better choice because adding arrowroot to a dish containing dairy makes it slimy. Tapioca is a useful substitute for potato starch if one needs to thicken a sauce quickly.

Learn more about Cooking

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What are some recipes for how to thicken gravy?

    A:

    The most common way of thickening gravy is by using cornstarch, flour or another starch. Starches thicken gravy by absorbing liquid during cooking. Cooks can also thicken gravy by allowing liquid to evaporate from it, a process called reduction.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is gelatinization in cooking?

    A:

    Gelatinization occurs when granules of a starch product, such as flour or cornstarch, swell when they come in contact with a liquid. This swelling process causes the the starch granules to thicken the liquid in which they are immersed. This is the basis for many gravies and sauces used in cooking.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What potatoes are the best for making potato salad?

    A:

    Waxy potatoes that are low in starch are best for making potato salad. These types of potatoes include the red-skinned potato, yellow potato, fingerling potato, white potato and purple/blue potato.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the ingredients of Daiya cheese?

    A:

    The primary ingredients of Daiya cheese include filtered water, tapioca or arrowroot flours, expeller pressed canola or safflower oil, coconut oil and pea protein. Other ingredients include salt, inactive yeast, vegan natural flavors, vegetable glycerin and xanthan gum, in addition to citric acid, annatto and titanium dioxide. The ingredients vary slightly between different Daiya cheese products, but as of 2015, no Daiya products contain animal products. They are also free of soy, wheat, barley, gluten and nuts.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore