Q:

What are some properties of maltodextrin?

A:

Quick Answer

Maltodextrin is a binding agent or thickener found in processed foods, according to PopSugar. This filler is a carbohydrate made from foods such as rice, maize and potatoes. Celiacs should remain wary of maltodextrin, as the additive sometimes comes from barley or wheat.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Maltodextrin is commonly in canned fruit, cereals, pudding, sauces and dressing, reports PopSugar. Manufacturers also add this substance to Splenda, Equal and other sugar replacements. Because people typically use it in very small amounts, maltodextrin rarely has much of an impact on a food's protein or fiber levels. Despite causing dental wear and tear, maltodextrin is generally safe in moderate amounts, reports Sugar-and-Sweetener-Guide.

Learn more about Dry Ingredients

Related Questions

Explore