Does Popcorn Have Gluten?


Quick Answer

Popcorn is considered gluten-free. The kernels contain corn gluten, which is not the type of gluten that causes reactions in people with gluten sensitivities. Toppings such as movie-theater butter do not typically contain gluten, but care should be taken to evaluate all flavorings for gluten.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

Followers of gluten-free diets avoid wheat, barley and rye. These grains are especially harmful to those with celiac disease. Gluten causes damage to the intestinal wall of individuals with celiac disease- even in small amounts.

Adherents to gluten-free diets should read the labels on popcorn closely or ask for nutritional information if dining out. Gluten can be found in small amounts in seemingly unlikely processed foods.

Learn more about Food Facts

Related Questions