Is popcorn gluten-free?


Quick Answer

Popcorn and other corn products, such as cornmeal, corn flour, corn tortillas and corn cereals, are all gluten-free. These foods are safe to eat on a gluten-free diet.

Continue Reading
Is popcorn gluten-free?
Credit: pedrik CC-BY 2.0

Full Answer

Gluten is a protein present in wheat, rye, barley and oats and can cause health problems for sufferers of celiac disease, dermatitis herpetiformis and wheat allergy. Pasta, bread, cereal, cakes and cookies are some of the many foods that people intolerant to gluten should avoid.

In addition to corn products, fruits and vegetables, nuts, rice, legumes, and meats are safe to eat on a gluten-free diet. Many gluten-free alternatives to traditionally gluten-laden foods, such as bread, are also available.

Learn more about Food Facts

Related Questions