Peanut butter is a naturally gluten-free product. However, like any jarred spread, it can easily be cross-contaminated with breadcrumbs and consequently should not be shared with others who do not use gluten-free bread. Peanuts, peanut flour and peanut oil are also gluten-free options.
Gluten is a form of protein that can be found in items like wheat, rye, barley or anything made from them. Individuals with gluten intolerance or celiac disease will experience intestinal problems if they consume gluten. Although some foods may appear to be gluten-free, it is important to read labels to ensure that no gluten-containing ingredients have been incorporated into the product.