Q:

How do you find out if Skittles are gluten free?

A:

Quick Answer

Wrigley, owner of the Skittles brand, states that Skittles are gluten-free. Consumers with questions about the gluten content of the company's products can contact the firm at 1-800-974-4539. Wrigley's gluten-free statement asserts a majority of its products do not contain gluten, and products follow proper labeling guidelines for consumers.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Gluten is a protein found only in wheat and related grains, such as barley and rye. People with celiac disease, which includes about 1 percent of the American population, should avoid products that include gluten for significant health reasons. As of 2014, increasing numbers of Americans without celiac disease have been avoiding products with gluten despite the fact that there is no medical evidence that doing so has any health benefits, while gluten-free diets can, in fact, lack beneficial vitamins and fiber.

Original Skittles candies contain sugar, corn syrup, hydrogenated palm kernel oil, citric acid, tapioca dextrin, modified corn starch, natural flavors, artificial flavors, colors, sodium citrate and carnauba wax. One 2.17-ounce package has 250 calories, 46 grams of sugars, 20 milligrams of sodium, 56 grams of carbohydrates and 2.5 grams of saturated fat.

Skittles has six flavors as of October 2014, including Original, Desserts, Dark Side, Wild Berry, Sour and Tropical. Some Skittles flavors were introduced then later discontinued, such as Smoothie Mix, Crazy Cores and Fizzl'd Fruits. The brand was launched in 1979, at which time Skittle were all imported. The first domestic Skittles factory in the United States opened in 1982. More than 200 million of these individual candies are made every day.

Learn more about Candy

Related Questions

Explore