Is Original Quaker Oatmeal Gluten Free?


Quick Answer

The Quaker oatmeal company does not label any of their oat products as gluten free because cross contact with gluten-containing grains is possible during transport of the oats. Some of the gluten-containing grains that the oats can potentially mix with during transport include wheat, rye and barley.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

Although gluten-containing ingredients are not used in the production of Quaker oatmeal, contact with gluten sources during transport prevents the company from claiming their oat products are gluten free. The company purchases oats from suppliers who transport the oats in bulk with other grains that can mix with the oats.

The company claims their large rice cakes are gluten free.

Learn more about Food Facts

Related Questions