Do Oats Have Gluten?


Quick Answer

Whole, unprocessed oats do not contain gluten, although oats can be cross-contaminated with gluten-containing particles during the manufacturing process. Although oats do not contain gluten, which is a protein found in barley, rye, triticale and wheat, they do contain a similar minor protein called avenin.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

People with avenin-related sensitivity may experience an allergic reaction to oats. As of 2014, there is still much controversy regarding the gluten-free status of oats; however, the University of Chicago notes that uncontaminated oats are a "safe" food for those who suffer from gluten allergies. Several manufacturers, including Bob's Red Mill, Cream Hill Estates and GF Harvest, offer uncontaminated oat products, including oat flour and oatmeal.

Learn more about Food Facts

Related Questions