Q:

Do marshmallows have pork in them?

A:

Quick Answer

Most commercially available marshmallows contain gelatin, which is a jelly-like substance derived from the collagen of the bones of many animals including fish, cattle and pigs. While much gelatin is derived from the bones of pigs, no meat is present in the sweet marshmallow product.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Commercially made marshmallows are an evolution of the original pink-flowered Althaea officinalis mallow plant, an edible plant popular among the ancient Egyptians and often used as a remedy for a number of maladies. Modern marshmallows are made primarily from sugar, egg whites and gelatin derived from the collagen of a number of animals, the latter of which acts as a binding agent. Marshmallows are popular and are eaten on their own as well as serving as the base for a number of treats including s'mores and Marshmallow Peeps.

Learn more about Sweets
Sources:

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How many mini marshmallows equal a big marshmallow?

    A:

    Ten miniature marshmallows are the equivalent of one large marshmallow. To be sure, weigh out 8.5 grams of miniature marshmallows; one large marshmallow usually weighs 8.5 grams.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How many marshmallows are in a bag?

    A:

    A standard 10.5-ounce bag contains approximately 35 large marshmallows. In recipes, each large marshmallow can be replaced with 1 tablespoon of marshmallow cream or 10 miniature marshmallows.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the benefits of eating Jell-O?

    A:

    The gelatin in Jell-O may be beneficial for those with bone or joint pain that's caused by conditions such as arthritis or osteoporosis. Jell-O may also be beneficial for promoting hair quality, stronger fingernails and for shortening the recovery time after sports-related injuries.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Are marshmallows made of horse hooves?

    A:

    Marshmallow ingredients include sugar, corn syrup, modified corn starch, dextrose, gelatin, water, tetrasodium pyrophosphate, artificial flavors and artificial colors, which means that there are no horse hooves as part of the recipe. Due to the presence of gelatin, an animal byproduct, there is a rumor that horse hooves are an ingredient as part of anything that contains gelatin. However, actual horse hooves are not made into gelatin.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore