Is There a List of Foods That Contain Gluten?


Quick Answer

The Celiac Disease Foundation webpage has a list of foods that do contain gluten. In general, foods that contain gluten include wheat, rye, barely, triticale, malt, brewer's yeast and wheat starch. Derivative ingredients of wheat also include gluten. Examples of wheat derivatives include semolina, spelt, farina and farro.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

Gluten is an ingredient that is commonly found in many foods. Any food that contains the aforementioned ingredients and derivatives of said ingredients also contain gluten. For this reason, many processed foods, breads, cereals, pastas, breading and coating mixes, sauces, gravies, crackers and baked goods contain gluten. Beer and some alcoholic malt beverages may also contain gluten. Non-food items that could contain gluten include lipstick, lip gloss or lip balm, play-dough, vitamin or mineral supplements, over-the-counter or prescription medications and herbal or nutritional supplements.

Those diagnosed with celiac disease or gluten intolerance much follow a gluten-free diet. Both of these diseases cause the body to have a adverse reaction to gluten. Those following a gluten-free diet may still enjoy fruits, vegetables, meat, poultry, fish, seafood, dairy, beans, legumes, nuts and several non-wheat grains, such as rice and oats. Recently, many food alternatives, such as gluten-free pastas and breads, have also become available on the market.

Learn more about Food Facts

Related Questions