Q:

What kind of gelatin is in Starburst?

A:

Quick Answer

According to Halal Hub, all gelatin that Wrigley USA uses in its products, which includes Starburst, is derived from animal products. The animal products are purified and dried during the manufacturing process, but the products do not currently meet vegetarian or halal standards.

Continue Reading
What kind of gelatin is in Starburst?
Credit: s_v_p Flickr CC-BY-3.0

Full Answer

The animal products used to make gelatin usually include cow or pig bones, tendons, ligaments and skin. There are a number of countries in which Wrigley manufactures products that contain gelatin not derived from animal products. These countries include Australia, the United Kingdom, New Zealand, India and other countries with a religious or cultural need for halal-certified foods.

Learn more about Candy

Related Questions

Explore