Q:

Is kefir a grain or a drink?

A:

Quick Answer

Kefir is a fermented product that is drinkable due to its liquid nature, and may therefore be considered as a probiotic beverage. To create kefir, one uses starter cultures called kefir grains, which, despite the name, are not true grains - they are actually lumps of bacteria and yeast.

Continue Reading
Is kefir a grain or a drink?
Credit: David Niergarth CC-BY 2.0

Full Answer

People commonly make kefir by fermenting dairy milk, which creates a slightly thick, sour product similar to yogurt or buttermilk. One may drink milk kefir as a beverage, consume it with cereals, or use it for cooking. It is also possible to make kefir by fermenting other liquids such as water, coconut water and non-dairy milk.

Learn more about Food Facts

Related Questions

Explore