Q:

Is iron lactate vegan?

A:

Quick Answer

According to Vegan Peace, iron lactate can come from either animal or vegan sources. To be sure, the manufacturer needs to be contacted before purchasing a product that lists iron lactate or enriched flour on the ingredient label.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Iron lactate is used as an iron supplement in infant formulas and enriched wheat products. Iron sulfate is often used for the same purposes, and according to Vegan Peace, iron sulfate is always vegan.

Vegan Action certifies companies and products as "vegan," and these display an obvious symbol on the packaging for consumers who do not want to spend time reading ingredient labels and calling manufacturers.

Learn more about Food Facts

Related Questions

Explore