Q:

What are the ingredients in gluten-free Quaker oatmeal?

A:

Quick Answer

Quaker Oats does not produce an oatmeal labeled gluten-free. Pure oats do not contain gluten. However, due to the concern of cross contamination with grains that do contain gluten, Quaker Oats does not claim to offer any truly gluten-free oat products.

Continue Reading
What are the ingredients in gluten-free Quaker oatmeal?
Credit: Jupiterimages Photolibrary Getty Images

Full Answer

As the Quaker Oats official website explains, its oats are purchased, handled and shipped in bulk by suppliers that process other grains or transport them in the same vehicles. Cross contamination with grains such as wheat, rye and barley, which do contain gluten, is possible.

The issue of contamination is a common concern for those required to avoid gluten due to medical issues. Since cross contamination can happen even when oats are grown in fields alongside other grains, and the kernels of many grains look very similar to each other, extensive testing is required to label an oatmeal gluten-free. Many commercially-processed oatmeal products do not meet this standard.

However, Bob's Red Mill Natural Foods does offer gluten-free rolled oats, steel-cut oats and quick-rolled oats. These oats are tested hundreds of times with an R5 ELISA gluten test, according to the official website. All of these products can be purchased at Bob's Red Mill official website or by using the online store finder.

Learn more about Grocery

Related Questions

Explore