What Are Some of the Ingredients in Gelatin?


Quick Answer

The processed protein known as gelatin is made from animal bones, skin, tendons and ligaments. Kosher gelatin is made from fish bones. Agar agar is derived from seaweed and is occasionally marketed as vegetarian gelatin.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

Gelatin is a processed form of collagen protein that is obtained by boiling animal products in water. Processed gelatin comes in powder, granule and sheet forms. Gelatin is used in the manufacturing of pharmaceuticals, cosmetics and foods such as marshmallows, yogurt and snack dip.

Sweet gelatin desserts, such as JELL-O, contain gelatin and water along with artificial flavorings, artificial coloring, and sugar or artificial sweeteners.

Learn more about Food Facts

Related Questions