Q:

Where does hummus come from?

A:

Quick Answer

Hummus is a Middle Eastern spread or dip of pureed chickpeas with tahini, garlic, lemon juice and oil, according to the Free Dictionary. Hummus is an ancient Levantine food. The earliest known recipes for hummus were recorded in cookbooks published in Cairo in the 13th century.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Hummus is high in iron and vitamin C. It has significant amounts of folic acid and vitamin B6. The chickpeas are a good source of protein and dietary fiber. Tahini consists mostly of sesame seeds that are an excellent source of the amino acid methionine. Depending on the recipe, humus carries varying amounts of monounsaturated fat. Humus is a popular dish in vegetarian and vegan diets. It serves as a complete protein when eaten with bread.

Learn more about Food Facts

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What is in an arugula salad?

    A:

    One version of an arugula salad contains 2 bunches of washed, dried and torn arugula; 1/4 cup of extra-virgin olive oil; the juice of 1/2 lemon; thinly shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese; and freshly ground salt and black pepper. To prepare the salad, place the arugula in a serving bowl, and drizzle it with the oil. Then, squeeze the lemon juice over the ingredients, sprinkle on the seasonings, toss the ingredients well, and taste. Adjust the seasonings, and top them with Parmigiano.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Where can you buy tahini paste for making hummus?

    A:

    One purchases tahini paste for use in hummus and other recipes from online retailers such as Amazon.com, Soap.com and FoodServiceDirect.com as well as from big box stores such as Walmart. Auction sites such as eBay.com also commonly feature listings for various brands of tahini paste.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are some easy appetizer ideas for vegetarians?

    A:

    Hummus, artichoke dip, tomato-avocado toasts, baked brie with pecans and spicy roasted chickpeas are all easy vegetarian appetizers. Several of these options are also suitable for vegans.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the difference between corn oil and vegetable oil?

    A:

    About.com Middle Eastern foods explains that both corn and vegetable oils are used interchangeably in the kitchen. However, corn oil is made from the germs of corn kernels; and, vegetable oil is derived primarily from soy beans. Vegetable oil can sometimes be a blend of different types of oils.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore