Is Honey Vegan?


Quick Answer

Honey is not considered a vegan food product. Because vegan products are defined as "not coming from an animal," and honey is produced by honeybees, it is not consumed by people who adhere to strict veganism.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

In addition to honey being a by-product of the bees' work, keeping bees for the purpose of producing honey violates their freedom, according to About News. The exploitation of the bees for their honey is further noted by the process of collecting the honey, which often kills several of the bees within a colony during the smoking process to extract the honey from the honeycomb.

Learn more about Grocery

Related Questions