Q:

What are gummy bears made of?

A:

Quick Answer

Gummy bears are traditionally made largely of gelatin. This is the ingredient that is responsible for giving gummy bears their chewy texture. Gummy bears are also made using a number of different flavors to give the candies their individual flavors. Organic gummy bears are made using tapioca syrup.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Additional ingredients in gummy bears generally include sugar, corn syrup and both lactic and citric acid. Trolli, one of the biggest manufacturers of gummy bears, makes gummy bears in five flavors: apple, cherry, lemon, lime and orange.

Gummy bears do not offer any significant nutritional value; however, they are now being enhanced with various vitamins. In fact, many vitamin manufacturers are producing vitamins in the form of gummy bears.

Learn more about Candy

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What are the ingredients in Brach's candy corn?

    A:

    The main ingredients in Brach's candy corn are sugar, corn syrup, confectioner's glaze, salt, dextrose, gelatin and sesame oil. Brach's candy corn also contains artificial flavors and the food colorings yellow 6, yellow 5 and red 3.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What kind of gelatin is in Starburst?

    A:

    According to Halal Hub, all gelatin that Wrigley USA uses in its products, which includes Starburst, is derived from animal products. The animal products are purified and dried during the manufacturing process, but the products do not currently meet vegetarian or halal standards.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are gummy bear implants?

    A:

    Gummy bear implants are breast implants made from high-strength cohesive silicone gel. Gummy bear implants are safer than other implants due to the lessened risk of rupture, according to Dr. Grant Stevens, a plastic surgeon in Marina Del Rey, California.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How are gummy bears made?

    A:

    Gummy bears and other gummy candies are made from a mixture of gelatin, sweeteners, water, flavorings and colorings, which are heated together until melted and fully mixed. This thickened mixture is then poured into molds and allowed to harden to form the finished gummy bears.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore