What Is a Good Vegan and Gluten-Free Congealed Salad Recipe?


Quick Answer

Fresh fruits, vegetables and 100 percent juices are gluten-free, and it can be added to gelatin salad recipes made with the vegan ingredient agar. Agar, available as a powder or flakes, is derived from seaweed, while gelatin is derived from animal bones, cartilage and skin.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

The Vegan Jell-O Mold recipe calls for 2 teaspoons of agar flakes dissolved by boiling in 1 cup of 100 percent white grape juice. Using a standard Jell-O mold, place fresh, sliced strawberries in the bottom of the bowl. After arranging the strawberries, add fresh blueberries, raspberries and blackberries as desired. Stir a second cup of white grape juice into the agar and juice mixture. Add two drops of red food coloring to the juice mixture, pour it over the fruit into the mold and chill to set.

The Red, White and Blue Fruit Terrine calls for 1 1/2 teaspoons of agar powder dissolved in 1 cup of 100 percent white grape-peach juice on medium-high heat. When the juice begins to boil, add an additional cup of juice, remove from the heat, and allow to cool, stirring occasionally. Arrange fresh sliced strawberries on the bottom of a loaf pan. Layer sliced bananas and blueberries on top, and pour the juice mixture over the fruit. Cover with plastic wrap, and chill to set.

Learn more about Cooking

Related Questions