Q:

What are some gluten-free foods available at Kroger's deli?

A:

Quick Answer

Gluten-free foods available from Kroger's deli department include a range of Boar's Head brand cheeses, such as American, Swiss and creamy Feta. Gluten-free meat products available from the deli include Private Selection Genoa Salami, Applegate Farms Sliced Prosciutto and Boar's Head Pepperoni. The deli's range of repackaged gluten-fee foods includes a variety of Boulder Soup Works soups and Mexican meals from Del Real Foods. The deli also carries a range of gluten-free spreads and dips.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Kroger stocks a variety of gluten-free foods in its grocery department. The products include flours, baking mixes and baked goods, along with a range of frosting, sweeteners, puddings and spices. Gluten-free candies, cereals, condiments and cookies are also available.

The ingredient lists on Kroger's private label products list every ingredient present in each product. Some entries on the lists, such as "natural flavorings," may include gluten; Kroger has an information hotline customers can call to find out if these entries are gluten-free or not. Kroger lists major allergens such as wheat, fish and soy on its labels.

To minimize the chance of cross-contamination, equipment at Kroger processing plants is thoroughly cleaned before allergen-free foods are processed. Products that may be cross-contaminated with wheat include a note on the label saying so. Kroger recommends that people who cannot eat gluten avoid products made in-store due to the risk of cross-contamination.

Learn more about Grocery

Related Questions

Explore