Q:

What are some foods without wheat?

A:

Quick Answer

Fruits, vegetables, rice, eggs and meats that do not contain fillers are some common wheat-free foods. Wheat is a common cereal grain throughout the world, and it is often used in flour to make breads and other baked goods. Rye bread, potato bread, and bread made from cornmeal or oat flour do not usually contain wheat, but individuals on a wheat-free diet should always check product labels for ingredients with wheat.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Fresh, canned and frozen fruits and vegetables do not contain wheat or gluten, as long as they are not breaded or combined with wheat products. Dried fruits and fruit or vegetable juices are also wheat-free. Rice and rice products, such as flour and rice noodles, are safe foods for a wheat-free diet, but individuals should check labels to be sure the products are pure rice. The same is true of products containing oats, barley, corn, soy and arrowroot.

Most dairy products are wheat-free, including milk, buttermilk, most types of cheese and plain yogurt. Some cottage cheese and fruit yogurts contain modified starch, which is a wheat product. Meats, such as veal, lamb, beef, poultry and fish, usually only contain wheat when they are breaded or floured, or when they contain filler ingredients, as in meatloaf and crab cakes. Pure honey, peanut butter, popcorn, tortilla chips and jam are usually wheat-free as well.

Learn more about Food Facts

Related Questions

Explore