What Are Some Foods on the Dairy-Free List?


Quick Answer

Fruits, vegetables, meats, beans and fish are examples of foods that are free of dairy products. Juice, soda, coffee, soy milk and rice milk are also on the dairy-free list. In general, any food in its natural state that isn't dairy based should be dairy-free. Rice, lentils, sugar and tea are examples of foods on the dairy-free list.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

Many processed and pre-packaged foods are also on the non-dairy list. Examples of dairy-free cereal include Cheerios, raisin bran, Life, Wheaties and puffed rice. Bisquick is dairy-free, as is Malt-o-Meal. Some breads, bagels and breakfast pastries are dairy-free, though consumers need to check the food label to determine which varieties. Spam and other canned meats are usually dairy-free.

Several stores carry specific dairy-free items. For example, the Whole Foods lines 365 and 365 Organic include many non-dairy options. These include animal cookies, classic pasta sauce, taco shells, granola and dill relish. The Amy brand also offers dairy-free options such as the brown rice and vegetable bowl, tofu scramble with hash browns and toaster pops.

Almond, rice, soy, coconut and oat milks are non-dairy substitutes for milk. Foods such as dairy-free margarine and cooking oils can serve as substitutes for butter, while tofu or non-dairy nut cheese serve as cheese substitutes.

Learn more about Food Facts

Related Questions