Many foods, including bean sprouts, tofu, soy sauce and miso, have soy as their primary ingredient. However, manufacturers are likely to include soy in ice cream, imitation dairy foods, meats with fillers, vegetable broth and bullion cubes. Fresh fruit sometimes has a soy-based wax coating.
For individuals with soy allergies, soy in any amount is often a problem. The Food Allergen Labeling & Consumer Protection Act requires food manufacturers to list soy on the ingredient label for most foods. However, the act exempts soy oil and soy lecithin from its labeling requirement. However, it is possible that these two sources contain enough soy protein to cause a reaction in some individuals.
The Food Allergen Labeling & Consumer Protection Act also excludes raw agricultural produce. Apples with soy-based wax do not require a label warning the consumer of the soy content. Raw or frozen chicken is also exempt, even though the manufacturer often adds chicken broth, which sometimes contains soy, in the processing stages.
Soy is sometimes difficult to find on a food's ingredient label because it goes by many different names. When the label includes textured vegetable protein, hydrolyzed soy protein or monosodium glutamate, the product contains soy. Foods containing hydrolyzed plant protein or hydrolyzed vegetable protein are likely to include soy.