Q:

Do eggs contain gluten?

A:

Quick Answer

Eggs do not contain gluten. Gluten is the protein portion of grass-related grains, such as wheat, spelt, barley and rye, composed of two proteins, glutenin and gliadin. These proteins are bonded to the starch of the grains.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Gluten can be removed from these grains by kneading them, then rinsing out the starch with cold water. In industrial settings, the gluten that is removed from wheat is collected, dried and sold as a vital gluten powder.

Individuals with Celiac's disease or gluten sensitivity try to avoid glutinous products, as it may cause gastrointestinal issues as well as headaches and joint pain.

Learn more about Food Facts

Related Questions

Explore