Are Eggs Considered to Be Meat?

Typically, in order to be classified as meat, food must be made of animal flesh and as eggs are an animal by-product, they are not considered meat. Like meat, however, eggs are high in fat and protein. It should be noted, as well, that in certain parts of the world eggs are considered meat by some people simply because they come from an animal.

There is an ongoing argument within the Vegetarian Community as to whether or not eggs should be considered meat. Some vegetarians feel they should be considered meat, since they're an animal derivative, while others have no problems eating them. In most cases, eggs are generally accepted among vegetarians, though vegans in particular will avoid anything that is made from an animal. Some also avoid eggs for religious reasons. Vegetarian Hindus, for example, consider eggs to be meat and will exclude them from their diet.