Processed oats may contain oat bran, or the bran can be removed and prepared separately. The cereal grain known as oat is the source of edible oats and oat bran.Continue Reading
Oats are processed into food products by removing the hulls, leaving the oat groats. The bran is the layer directly below the hull. When the bran is removed, what is left is far less nutritious than if the bran were left on.
Steel-cut oats are oat groats with the bran intact and chopped with steel blades, while old-fashioned (rolled) oats also still have the bran and are chopped, steamed and rolled. Quick-cooking and instant oatmeals usually have the oat bran removed.Learn more about Dry Ingredients
To make oat bran at home, pulse quick or rolled oats in a food processor. If rolled oats are unavailable, use whole grain oats, and sift after milling to separate the bran.Full Answer >
Bob's Red Mill, GF Harvest, Montana Gluten-Free, Glutenfreeda Foods and Holly's Oatmeal are several brands that offer gluten-free oats. Although oats are inherently gluten-free, they are usually cross-contaminated during processing with wheat, barley or rye.Full Answer >
Menu ideas for the Dukan diet meal plan include entrees such as spicy Cajun turkey mini burgers, ginger chili roast chicken and oat bran galette sandwiches with cream cheese and cold meat. Unsweetened yogurt and calorie-free sodas are other options for the Dukan Diet meal plan.Full Answer >
The ingredients in Honey Nut Cheerios include whole grain oats, sugar, oat bran, corn starch and honey. They also contain brown sugar syrup, salt, tripotassium phosphate, natural almond flavor and rice bran or canola oil. Vitamin E is added to maintain freshness.Full Answer >