Soy dairy products, such as soy milk, soy cheese, soy yogurt and soy ice cream, are made from soybeans. Miso, soy sauce and tofu are also made from soybeans, says Food Allergy Research & Education.
Soy protein products and tempeh contain soybeans. Green soybeans in pods, called edamame, can be steamed and eaten plain or added to salads and other dishes, according to About. Soy nuts, which are dry roasted soybeans, are widely available, says Nuts.com. Even though food manufacturers add soybeans to many food products, the vast majority of soybeans are used to make oil, according to the North Carolina Soybean Producers Association.