Q:

Does chocolate have gluten?

A:

Quick Answer

While pure, unsweetened chocolate is gluten-free, chocolate that is common in stores contains other ingredients, some of which may contain gluten. Two common ingredients that are added to pure chocolate that contain gluten are barely malt and wheat.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Other ingredients found in chocolate products that typically contain gluten include modified food starch, dextrin, and artificial flavor or extract. Products that state "no gluten ingredients" may still contain gluten due to cross-contamination. Many chocolate syrups and baking chips are gluten-free, though it may not be labeled specifically on the packaging. Manufacturers such as Hershey's maintain lists of their gluten-free chocolate products online.

Learn more about Sweets

Related Questions

Explore