Which cereals are gluten-free?


Quick Answer

There are several brands of cereal that have gluten-free varieties, including Chex and Cream of Rice. Both cold and hot cereals are available so those who want to avoid gluten can do so without giving up a traditional part of breakfast.

Continue Reading
Which cereals are gluten-free?
Credit: Getty Images Europe Getty Images News Getty Images

Full Answer

Glutens are the proteins found in grains such as wheat, rice and barley that allow the grain to hold its shape. Celiac disease is found in people who have an intolerance to gluten. To help these people, manufacturers have been creating gluten-free versions of foods, and breakfast cereals are part of the list of foods that can be made gluten-free.

Chex, which is produced by General Mills, has several gluten-free cereal varieties. For those who prefer unsweetened cereal, long-time favorites Corn Chex and Rice Chex are gluten free. If a sweeter cereal is desired, then Honey Nut, Vanilla, Cinnamon, Apple-Cinnamon and Chocolate Chex offer a sweet breakfast experience without gluten. Unlike many cereals that are gluten free, the Chex varieties still offer essential B Vitamins and other nutrients.

For people who enjoy hot cereal in the mornings, Cream of Rice is an option. It is also a good source of iron. For oatmeal lovers, Bob's Red Mill offers oatmeal, granola and other gluten-free cereals that are delicious hot or cold.

Learn more about Pasta & Grains

Related Questions