Q:

What can be used as an egg substitute in mayonnaise?

A:

Quick Answer

There are a number of items that can be combined to make mayonnaise without eggs, such as various vegetable-based oils, soy milk, tofu and lemon juice. This type of mayonnaise is known as vegan mayonnaise, and it is ideal for people with certain allergies or who wish to live a vegetarian or vegan lifestyle.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Mayonnaise is a sauce that serves as a condiment for sandwiches and a key ingredients in many salads. In a typical mayonnaise, eggs typically help emulsify the ingredients so that it forms a thick sauce. When making vegan mayonnaise, the addition of an acid, such as lemon juice, helps thicken the oil and soy products so that it resembles a normal mayonnaise.

Learn more about Grocery

Related Questions

Explore