It is safe to substitute gelatin for pectin in many recipes, including those for canning. However, the resulting product may differ slightly in texture or taste.
Vegans and vegetarians; individuals who keep Kosher eating requirements; and those with food allergies or sensitivities should avoid consuming gelatin. Individuals who are canning, making candy or following recipes that call for gelatin as an ingredient are able to substitute pectin instead. Recipes that are made with pectin instead of gelatin are safe when eaten fresh, frozen or canned, but their texture and flavor are sometimes altered. These ingredients are typically added to food for thickening or to help it gel; therefore, substitutions also have the ability to change the color and transparency of the food.