Q:

How can someone make rock candy quickly?

A:

Quick Answer

To make rock candy quickly, add corn syrup to the traditional recipe and allow the sugar syrup to harden on a flat cookie sheet. Traditional rock candy forms over a period of 3 to 10 days by creating a simple syrup with water and sugar. Pouring the simple syrup into a jar and hanging strings into the mixture will cause large sugar crystals to form and create rock candy.

Know More

Full Answer

Mixing 2 cups of sugar, 1/2 cup of corn syrup, and 1/2 cup of boiling water creates a thicker simple syrup that hardens quickly when placed on a flat cookie sheet. Once the mixture sets, it breaks easily into little pieces of rock candy. Flavored oils or food coloring can enhance the look and taste of the candy as well.

Learn more about Candy

Related Questions

  • Q:

    What are the ingredients in Skittles?

    A:

    As of 2014, the main ingredients in the original flavor of Skittles are sugar, corn syrup and hydrogenated palm kernel oil. There is also less than 2 percent citric acid, tapioca dextrin, modified corn starch, natural and artificial flavors, colors (red 40 lake, titanium dioxide, red 40, yellow 5 lake, yellow 5, yellow 6 lake, yellow 6, blue 2 lake, blue 1, blue 1 lake), sodium citrate and carnauba wax.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What are the ingredients in Brach's candy corn?

    A:

    The main ingredients in Brach's candy corn are sugar, corn syrup, confectioner's glaze, salt, dextrose, gelatin and sesame oil. Brach's candy corn also contains artificial flavors and the food colorings yellow 6, yellow 5 and red 3.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How many candy corns are in a bag?

    A:

    Although the number of candies depends on the specific bag size, there are approximately 360 candies in a 22-ounce bag of candy corn. To figure out the number of candies in this bag, it is necessary to know that there are 20 candy pieces in one serving size and that there are about 18 servings in one 22-ounce bag.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Is Brachs candy corn gluten-free?

    A:

    Brach's candy corn is gluten-free; however, the manufacturer processes it at a location that uses eggs, milk, nuts, soy and wheat in other products. Therefore, individuals who are sensitive to these ingredients may still suffer from an allergic reaction if cross-contamination occurs.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore