Q:

Can you make creamed corn without using dairy products?

A:

Quick Answer

Creamed corn can be made without using any dairy products. For people who are lactose intolerant, or follow a plant-based diet, coconut milk can be used as a substitute for cream or milk in creamed corn.

Continue Reading
Can you make creamed corn without using dairy products?
Credit: Aduldej iStock/Getty Images Plus Getty Images

Full Answer

Coconut milk has a creamy texture and contains no dairy. It can be used to make a vegan version of traditional creamed corn by sautéing frozen corn and sweet onions in coconut oil. Add coconut milk and salt and pepper to taste. Puree half of this mixture, and add to the leftover corn mixture.

Creamed corn can also be made without coconut milk. According to The New York Times website, grating the corn husks on a large box grater produces creamy milk from the corn which can be used to make a creamed corn dish.

Yummly has many creamed corn recipes that can be made using a vegetable stock or white wine instead of milk or cream. The stock and the white wine produce a creamy consistency just as milk or cream would. To make this type of creamed corn,scrape the kernels off the corn cob and into a bowl with a large spoon. Sauté the corn in a saucepan with 1 teaspoon of oil. Add the wine or the stock, and let it cook for about a minute; add salt and pepper to taste. To make the dish creamier, add more wine or vegetable stock.

Learn more about Dairy & Eggs

Related Questions

Explore