Q:

Where can you find a list of gluten-free alcoholic drinks?

A:

Quick Answer

Celiac.com offers a comprehensive list of gluten-free alcohol beverages. Wine, champagne, vermouth, sherry, cognac and brandy contain no gluten. Most beers, however, are not gluten-free.

Continue Reading
Where can you find a list of gluten-free alcoholic drinks?
Credit: Fimb CC-BY 2.0

Full Answer

The National Institutes of Health says that all distilled alcohol is gluten-free. Scotch whiskey, rye whiskey and gin use cereal grains in the distillation process, but lose their prolamin gluten proteins during the process, explains the Canadian Celiac Association.

The Celiac Sprue Association recommends that people with severe gluten allergies stick to fruit-based wines and distilled alcohols that do not use cereal grain. Moderate amounts of rum made from sugar cane, tequila made from cactus, and vodka made from potatoes may not cause adverse digestive effects in people with celiac disease.

Learn more about Liquor & Cocktails

Related Questions

Explore