Q:

What brands of ice cream are gluten free?

A:

Quick Answer

Breyer's, Ben & Jerry's, Haagen-Dazs, Turkey Hill, Edy's and Dove all manufacture gluten-free ice cream for consumers who have celiac disease but want to enjoy ice cream. Ice cream flavors like chocolate and vanilla are mass-produced and are less likely to include gluten-related ingredients or be cross-contaminated by ice cream flavors that contain gluten.

Continue Reading
What brands of ice cream are gluten free?
Credit: Tara Moore Digital Vision Getty Images

Full Answer

Most companies that produce ice cream include a gluten-free label on their packaging. Ben & Jerry's label guarantees its Cherry Vanilla and Butter Pecan ice creams are gluten-free. Haagen-Dazs advises customers on their website that there is gluten in flavors that include "bakery products such as cookies, cakes or brownies."

Turkey Hill labels its ice cream as gluten-free if it meets Food and Drug Administration requirements of less than 20 parts per million of gluten in its products. Such ice creams include its Choco Mint Chip, Colombian Coffee, Peaches 'N Cream and Rum Raisin flavors.

Celiac disease is a condition that occurs when a person cannot digest gluten, the major protein in wheat, barley and rye. About one in every 100 people has celiac disease. It can lead to malnutrition, osteoporosis and sometimes cancer. In order to avoid this risk, people who are gluten-intolerant should read food labels carefully and learn to identify ingredients that include gluten.

Learn more about Grocery

Related Questions

Explore