Spelt flour is similar to traditional wheat flour but contains a smaller concentration of gluten; therefore, people with minor gluten sensitivities may benefit from eating spelt, notes What's Cooking America. Spelt is not a gluten-free grain and is not suitable for people with celiac disease.
Spelt is more water soluble and more easily digestible than traditional whole wheat flour, according to What's Cooking America. While it is comparable to wheat, spelt is slightly lower in calories and contains slightly more protein than wheat flour. Spelt is a good source of vitamins and minerals such as manganese, niacin, copper, phosphorus and vitamin B-2. It is also a good source of dietary fiber.
The outer husk of the spelt grain is harder than that of wheat. This means that during the milling process, spelt retains more nutrients and flavor than wheat does, notes What's Cooking America. This tough outer husk also makes the grain more resistant to pests, meaning it may be grown with fewer pesticides than wheat. Spelt may be a good choice for people who are concerned about pesticides in food.
Because it is more water soluble, spelt requires about 25 percent less liquid than wheat for baking, notes WebMD. Spelt may be substituted for wheat flour without changing the flour proportions.