Does Beer Have Gluten?


Quick Answer

Most beer contains gluten. Traditionally, beer is made from malted barley or malted wheat, both of which contain gluten. Some types of beer contain more gluten than others, but beer with any amount of gluten may make people with celiac disease sick.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

As gluten-free diets have become more popular as of 2014, many beer companies and manufacturers have begun to produce gluten-free beers. These beers are often made from corn or rice so that they do not contain gluten and are safe for people with celiac disease to drink. Gluten-free beers may also be made from sorghum or from barley that has had the gluten extracted.

Learn more about Beer

Related Questions