Some beer brands that offer gluten-free products are the Ipswich Ale Brewery's Celia Saison, Green's Gluten Free Beer, Sprecher Shakparo Ale, Estrella Damm Daura and Tweason'ale from Dogfish Head Craft Brewed Ales. There are many other gluten-free beer brands on the market. Bon Appetit lists 12 brands of this type of beer on its website.Continue Reading
These beer brands are created with ingredients that can be tolerated by people who have celiac disease. Instead of using traditional grains like barley and rye, most of these beers are made with ingredients such as sorghum syrup, citrus peels and millet. However, one beer called Omission Lager is made with low-protein barley to which an enzyme is added to metabolize gluten. This beer qualifies as a gluten-free product because the gluten content is below the established level required for a product to be labeled gluten free.
Celiac disease is a medical condition in which people have trouble eating foods that have gluten. Many grain products contain gluten, which is a form of protein, according to WebMD. People with this disease should avoid gluten in their diet.Learn more about Beer