The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission provides a list of approved schools that offer TABC Certification on its website at Tabc.State.Tx.us. Some employers provide the training directly to their employers for free, but the Commission advises that licensed schools that offer online training typically charge a fee between $20 and $30 for the course and certification. It warns consumers against unlicensed schools offering counterfeit certificates at no cost, but it doesn't set the fee.Continue Reading
The TABC Certification program is a short course designed to teach employees in the retail and hospitality industries about the state laws regarding sales and service of alcohol. The course trains bartenders, servers and clerks to identify and prevent sales to minors, intoxicated customers and others who should not be served according to the law.
The TABC courses are either provided by employers or by schools or businesses whose curricula have been reviewed and approved by the TABC, and trainers must be individually certified. A worker who completes an approved program and passes the test receives a certificate that licenses him to sell alcohol in Texas. The Commission maintains an online database of certified persons, and workers who need replacement certificates can apply online to receive new copies.Learn more about Career Aspirations