What is the required amount of time for a break in a 7.5 hour work day in New Jersey?


Quick Answer

According to the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development, only minors under the age of 18 are required by law to receive a break during the workday. For every five consecutive hours worked, an employer is required to give a minor employee a 30-minute meal period.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

So, if am employee is under age 18, he must receive at least one 30-minute break during a 7.5 hour shift. Employers are not required under state law to give break periods to employees who are over the age of 18. However, most individual company policies dictate lunch and break periods for employees who are not minors.

Learn more about HR

Related Questions