As of 2014, obtaining a real estate license in Pennsylvania requires you to be at least 18 years old, complete 60 hours of approved real estate education, provide a criminal background check, pass both the Pennsylvania and the national licensing exams, and apply for a license. The amount of time varies depending on individual circumstances, but most applicants are licensed within one to three months of starting the process.
- Complete the required education
If you are at least 18 years old, then complete four credits, or 60 hours, of approved real estate education. The 60 hours breaks down to two 30-hour courses covering real estate fundamentals and practices. Courses must be completed no more than 10 years before taking the exam.
- Provide a background check
Provide the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission with a criminal background check that is no older than 90 days. If you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, including any drug law violations, you are required to disclose that information.
- Pass the Pennsylvania and national exams
Successfully pass the Pennsylvania and national portions of the PSI Salesperson Real Estate Examination. The exam is multiple choice, and you must score 75 percent or higher to pass.
- Apply for a state license
Fill out, sign and submit the licensing application and appropriate fee to the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission. The fee varies depending on when in the licensing cycle you apply, but as of 2014, fees range from $93 to $141. You must apply for your license within three years of passing the exams.