As of November 2014, a Texas notary must complete Form 2301, obtain a surety bond for $10,000 and pay a filing fee of $21 to be commissioned. Requirements include being a minimum of 18 years of age, being a Texas resident, and not having of a felony conviction or a conviction for a crime involving questionable morals. A notary's term is four years.Continue Reading
Form 2301 is available from the Texas Secretary of State, a local county clerk, an insurance agency or a surety bond company. This form includes blanks for the person's legal name, Social Security number, mailing address, county of residence, driver's license number and surety bond number. The $21 fee must accompany the form sent to the Secretary of State's office in Austin. That office issues a notary's commission on completion of the application after background checks.
Surety bond companies charge a premium for notary insurance. This bond covers any member of the public who is harmed by the negligence of a notary. A notary may purchase insurance to cover legal cases against him due to negligence, but Texas does not require it.
A notary must keep a record book of each document notarized. The entries of a notary's record book are public records in Texas, and anyone who requests and pays for the records can get a certified copy.Learn more about Career Aspirations