The penalty for paying secured property taxes after the delinquency date varies according to the jurisdiction. In California, it is 10 percent after 5 p.m. on the first installment's delinquency date and 10 percent plus a cost after the second installment's delinquency date, explains the San Diego County Treasurer-Tax Collector.
As of 2015, the penalty for paying secured property taxes after the delinquency date in Mount Pleasant, New York, ranges from 2 percent to 12 percent, depending on the length of the delinquency, according to the Town of Mount Pleasant. Orange County, Florida, imposes a 3-percent minimum mandatory delinquency charge. If the taxpayer still fails to pay, the county adds an advertising charge, and then places a lien on the property and additional charges, according to the Orange County Tax Collector.