Maryland Worker's Compensation data shows that the average final settlement for back injuries in Maryland is $33,748. Most back injury claims in Maryland are for isolated back injuries and combination back injuries, which include the neck, shoulder, knees and leg areas. The agency's data shows that individual back injury settlements ranged up to more than $400,000.Continue Reading
There is no specific amount of monetary compensation awarded for back injuries in relation to personal injury claims. Maryland Worker's Compensation information notes that back injury cases vary widely. Numerous circumstances come into play when dealing with back injuries, and therefore, settlement amounts are awarded on a case-by-case basis.
According to Nolo, in personal injury cases there are several key factors that go into determining monetary compensation. The cost of medical treatment of the injury is one big factor. Lost income due to being unable to perform work duties, or losing a job, is calculated. Damage to personal property may be an issue. Many claims also account for pain and suffering, including emotional distress. If the injury occurred due to the negligence of an employer or another person, punitive damages may be applicable. As Wikipedia notes, damage amounts correlate to the severity of an injury.Learn more about Salaries
Shoulder injury cases in Maryland awarded $25,378 per case, on average, from Jan. 1, 2011, to June 30, 2012, according to Maryland Workers' Compensation. The state saw $50.5 million distributed over 1,990 cases within that time span for shoulder injuries alone.Full Answer >
Workers' compensation settlement amounts for back injuries factor the costs of treatment and the loss of income that may occur due to the injuries, reports InjuryClaimCoach.com. Noneconomic damages to a worker also factor in the settlement amount, according AllLaw. In some circumstances, a court may award punitive damages, while contributory negligence lowers the value of the worker’s claim.Full Answer >
Waiver of benefits forms and requirements for workman's comp, officially known as Worker's Compensation, vary by state, explains the National Council on Compensation Insurance, or NCCI. Florida's Chief Financial Office requires a written Notice of Election to be Exempt, while Utah's Labor Commission allows online applications with a fee of $50, as of 2015. Both states allow corporate or LLC officers to apply, as well as independent contractors. The NCCI has state-by-state information available online and by phone.Full Answer >
According to Horowitz, Horowitz & Associates, the value of a claim under the Illinois Workers' Compensation Act is calculated based on five factors: the reported level of impairment, the occupation of the injured employee, the age of the employee at the time of the injury, the employee's future earning capacity and the evidence of disability in the medical records. No single factor can be used to calculate a value.Full Answer >