As of 2014, Michigan requires applicants for a real-estate license to complete 40 hours of classroom training on real-estate topics, submit a license application and pass a licensing exam that tests the applicant's knowledge of fundamental real-estate sales concepts. To be eligible to apply for a license, the applicant must be at least 18 years of age and of good moral character.Continue Reading
Each state has its own laws for licensing real-estate agents who want to sell property located in the state. Michigan's requirements are more lenient than those of other states. For example, as of 2014, Michigan requires only 40 hours of prelicensing classroom hours before an applicant for a salesperson's license can take the licensing exam, while Texas requires 210 hours.
The 40-hour educational requirement can be satisfied through traditional or online courses from educational providers approved by the state. However, the applicant must apply to take the license exam within 36 months of completing the last course. The applicant must pay a fee to submit a license application and take the exam, list a sponsoring real-estate broker who employs the applicant, and answer questions about the applicant's history that prove good moral character. For example, an applicant with a criminal history must complete an additional form entitled Request for Conviction History so the state can determine whether or not the applicant should be allowed to take the exam. Michigan requires applicants to complete all real-estate licensing requirements within one year of submitting the licensing application.Learn more about Real Estate