How Many Hours a Day Can an Employer Make You Work?
The United States Department of Labor explains that the Fair Labor Standards Act does not limit the amount of hours that an employer can make an employee work in a day or week. This applies to employees who are 16 years or older.
The FLSA is enforced by the Wage and Hour Division of the United States Department of Labor, and it affects both part-time and full-time employees. As a part of regular business practice, employers are required to record their employee's total worked hours for each day and each week, including any overtime. Nolo explains that an employer can make an employee work overtime and fire the employee if he refuses. Overtime is compensated with 1 1/2 times the employee's base pay and begins when he works more than 40 hours in a week. If the employee works more than eight hours in a day but under 40 hours in that week, he is not considered to be working overtime. An exception to this rule is applied in some states, including Alaska and California. Alison Green of U.S. News states that an employer cannot ask, require or allow an employee to work off of the clock. Neither the employer nor the employee can waive this right.