What Is Some General Information About Delinquent Taxes in Wayne County?


Quick Answer

As of 2015, property taxes become delinquent in Wayne County, Michigan, on March 1st during the year after the taxes are due, according to the Wayne County Treasurer. For example, real property taxes that were due in 2014 became delinquent on March 1, 2015. Once taxes become delinquent, taxpayers must pay the Wayne County Treasurer. The county applies a 1.5 percent monthly interest rate charge in addition to fees for taxes that are delinquent for more than 12 months.

Continue Reading
Related Videos

Full Answer

The county uses the Delinquent Tax Revolving Fund Program to collect delinquent property taxes, notes the Wayne County Treasurer. When the county treasurer receives delinquent property taxes for collection, Michigan law mandates a 1 percent monthly interest rate and a 4 percent administration fee. After one year, state law mandates an increase of the interest rate to 1.5 percent per month that is back-dated to the original delinquency date in addition to more fees.

When property taxes are delinquent for two years, the Circuit Court enters a judgment of foreclosure, as the Wayne County Treasurer explains. Property owners have until March 31st to pay the taxes, interest and fees, which redeems their property. If the owners do not redeem their property, the county forecloses on it, which means that the title passes to the county treasurer and the owners lose all rights. In September and October, the county sells tax delinquent properties at public auction.

Learn more about Taxes

Related Questions