Q:

Do all employers have to pay double time after 12 hours of work?

A:

Quick Answer

The Houston Chronicle states that only certain employers in certain situations are required to pay double time after 12 hours of work. The only state that regulates overtime pay is California. No other state has labor laws that cover double time, although there are federal rules for overtime pay.

Continue Reading
Do all employers have to pay double time after 12 hours of work?
Credit: Bill Varie Photolibrary Getty Images

Full Answer

Even in California, there are exceptions to the double-time provisions. For example, there are many job categories in which employees are exempt from double-time pay. As stated by the Houston Chronicle, these categories include professional actors, taxicab drivers, irrigators, people who work in the computer software industry and administrative and professional employees.

Learn more about HR

Related Questions

Explore