Q:

Can an employer decrease my hourly wage?

A:

Quick Answer

Employers have the legal authority to decrease the amount of hourly pay for any employee as long as the employee is paid at least minimum wage, according to the U.S. Department of Labor. Employers are given a lot of leeway under labor laws to change specific wages during employment. In addition to pay, employers can legally reduce the number of hours worked.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

Individual states can also have similar wage rules in place. For example, the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act specifically states that employers must notify employees in writing at least 24 hours before a wage change is to take effect, according to the North Carolina Department of Labor. The law also states that employers are not allowed to reduce wages and benefits retroactively. Reductions can only be applied to future wages. However, under North Carolina rules, employers can take away all future wage benefits when notification is given.

An employee that disagrees with the wage reduction has no legal recourse to prevent the cut in pay, according to CBS News. An employee in this situation may not be seen as a valuable asset by the employer. The employee can either stay on the job and accept the lower wages or seek alternative employment.

Learn more about Salaries

Related Questions

  • Q:

    How do you calculate time-and-a-half overtime pay?

    A:

    Overtime pay is calculated by multiplying the hourly wage of an employee by 1.5. Federal law sets the standard working week at 40 hours, so any time worked past this point is considered overtime. However, some employees are exempt, typically those on a salary or fixed wage.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    Can your pay be reduced if you are demoted?

    A:

    According to the United States Department of Labor, an employer may reduce the pay of any nonsalaried employee as long as the pay does not fall below minimum wage. An employer is also allowed to reduce the number of hours an employee is scheduled to work.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    What is the severance pay amount in Ontario?

    A:

    The Ontario Employment Standards Act requires that employers compute severance pay as a terminated employee's regular weekly wage multiplied by the sum of the employee's number of years of employment, with any partial years pro-rated. This amount is capped at 26 weeks' pay, as of 2015.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:
  • Q:

    How much money does an astrophysicist make?

    A:

    The pay for Astrophysicist positions ranges from $55,000 to $93,000 annually depending on the specific employer. For example, an astrophysicist who works for the Smithsonian makes around $57,000, while an astrophysicist working for the US Navy makes $131,000.

    Full Answer >
    Filed Under:

Explore